Set a sitewide password

  • Updated

If you want to restrict access to your entire SmugMug site, you're in the right place. (If just certain galleries concern you, try this help article instead.)

When a password is set:

  1. A lock icon appears next to your name on your homepage.
  2. Your name, galleries, photos, and keywords are removed from SmugMug's sitewide search. This can take a few minutes.
  3. Your admirers will be asked for the site password on your homepage, folder, and gallery pages without passwords. If your admirers follow a link directly to a password-protected gallery, they'll be asked only for that gallery's password.

Set a sitewide password.

You can set a sitewide password in the Privacy tab of your Account Settings. Under Site Access, select People with Password from the drop-down and then enter a password in the field for Set Site Viewing Password.

You can also enter a password hint if you like.

Important: Your password hint will be visible to anyone who visits your site, so we strongly recommend you don't make the hint the password itself.

Set private sharing to be sitewide.

You can also lock down your site using private sharing, allowing only those you invite to view your site. Set this up in the Privacy tab of your Account Settings. Under Site Access, select People I Choose from the drop-down and then enter the email addresses of the people you’d like to invite to view your photos.

Note: This feature is available on Power plans and above.

Once you’ve entered all the people you’d like to invite, be sure to click Save and Exit in the header bar to send the invitations.

You can add more folks later or remove viewing rights. Type in additional email addresses to invite others, or revoke access by clicking the X next to an email address listed under Has Access.

FAQs

Hold on. I wasn't asked for a password.
You won't be if (a) you're logged in or (b) you entered the password in the past week on the same computer. It's to keep us from making sane people crazy by prompting for the password too often.

How do I clear the password?
Just delete the password from the password field above.

Does this foil Google?
Yes. Your name, bio, gallery names, etc., should not appear in Google's search unless you place them on non-SmugMug pages.

Was this article helpful?

8 out of 15 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request