Display a photo in multiple galleries

  • Updated

You can collect a photo so it displays in multiple galleries at once! Use this feature to make portfolio galleries to show clients or to make special galleries for each of your grandkids. This feature is available to SmugMug account owners only.

The collected photo won't move from the original gallery where it was first uploaded. And collected copies will show a link to the source gallery in the info panel within the Lightbox, so you'll always know where you've stashed the original photos.

FYI: You can collect up to 5,000 photos in a gallery. However, smart galleries have a limit of 1,000 due to smart rules. 

Start collecting.

Go to the Organizer and select the photos you want to collect, then drag them from the source gallery to the other gallery where you want them to appear. When you drop the photos onto the destination gallery, an option will appear asking if you want to Move or Collect the photos. Click Collect.

Alternatively, in the SmugMug gallery style only, you can browse to a photo you want to collect and the photo-tool icon (wrench) will appear under the photo. Click the wrench icon under the photo, and then click Collect.

Pick the photo(s) you want to collect and click Done.

A gallery picker will then appear. Pick the target gallery where you want the collected photo(s) to show up, then click Done.

To remove a collected photo using the photo tools, click the wrench button and select Remove from gallery.

You can also remove a collected photo from within the Organizer. Navigate to your Organizer and select the gallery with your collected photo(s) from the sidebarA collected photo is designated with a white arrow in the lower-left corner of the thumbnail. Select the collected photo and click the trash-can icon, then select Remove Collected Photo to remove the collected photo. Removing a collected photo does not delete the original source photo. Deleting the original source photo will also delete any collected photos.

Important: Did you select a collected photo but can't select the trash-can icon? It might have been collected using a Smart Rule. Read more below about how to remove photos that have been collected using Smart Rules.

Back to top

Collect 'em all.

Consider using a keyword to automatically collect your photos using Smart Rules. You can keyword multiple photos and have them appear automatically in a new gallery.

Important: Collected photos honor the commerce settings—such as shopping cart, proof delay, boutique packaging, personal delivery, brand packaging, printmark, and backprinting—of the collected gallery, not the original source gallery. 

On the Pro plan, an individual image can be assigned to a specific pricelist. A collected image will honor the image-assigned pricelists no matter where the photo is displayed. If you want to block the sale of a photo completely, be sure to set a pricelist with no items for sale and apply it to the photo itself.

A photo from a password-protected gallery collected into a public gallery will inherit the public-gallery settings. However, a photo collected from a private gallery to an unlisted or public gallery will keep the original private setting. You can choose to collect images from your unlisted galleries, but we won't reveal the location in the caption field like we do for your public photos. Your secret is safe with us.

Aside from commerce settings and the privacy settings mentioned above, the photos that are collected will honor the remaining settings of the original source gallery. This means if you've applied watermarks, limited the largest size, etc., those settings will apply to your photos no matter where they're displayed.

Looking to move your photos instead collect them? That's also possible, and all the details are in our article about moving photos.

Important: Deleting an original/source photo will also remove its collected copies.

Back to top

Was this article helpful?

7 out of 9 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request